Can't see steam icon in system tray - GameAxis Forums
Go Back   GameAxis Forums > PC Games Connections > PC Gaming & Hardware
CLICK HERE TO LOG IN
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 21-12-2004, 11:10 PM   #1
spin doctor
 
Posts: n/a
Can't see steam icon in system tray

This is another bitching thread on steam.

1. My HL2 and CS icon will not launch the games. Games are can only be launched from menu inside steam icon at the system tray.

2. Sometimes the steam icons appears at sytem tray, but most times it doesn't. I can see from task manager that it's running but there's no icon at tray.

Now after another steam update, I can't see the icon at all so no HL2 for me. Anyone seeing the same problem as me?

The person who thought up steam ought to be shot!!!!! bloody proggie from hell!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2004, 11:36 PM   #2
nicknack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,444
Yes, unfortunately, I share the same problem. Even now I have my steam enabled but it's not in sight except the task manager. Just another steam bug I suppose. By the way, my games loads fine with me, it doesn't really affect me at all. I wouldn't want to reinstall because I have to UPDATE again, which is really very painstaking.
__________________

nicknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2004, 10:21 AM   #3
spin doctor
 
Posts: n/a
Exactly! reinstalling this pos will take hours!! could you imagine if every game you buy in the future have its own services...God help us!
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2004, 01:54 PM   #4
gh0s7_cs
Senior Member
 
gh0s7_cs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 665
yea.... same prob... launched steam but no icon in the task bar...

however only happens sometimes..

when it happens, juz gotta wait for quite some time

__________________
...
gh0s7_cs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2004, 03:13 PM   #5
SpinFire
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
SpinFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 7,973
Go to Task Manager to kill Steam.exe and relaunch Steam.
__________________
I Love This Game!
6800GT 3DMark2005 Score
SpinFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2004, 07:34 PM   #6
RuMmYtUb
Supremacy Member
 
RuMmYtUb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 25,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinFire
Go to Task Manager to kill Steam.exe and relaunch Steam.
Yea this is best method IMO.
__________________
_ [Specialized ] _
RuMmYtUb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2004, 12:58 PM   #7
stereobox
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 417
what's up with this STEAM man?? everytime i want to play CS:Source, i spend AGES updating and updating, and then still have to wait while "preparing to play"....takes about 5-10mins before i can even play anything.

what happen to the past when we can just double click on the game icon, wait for it to start up and go online immediately?
stereobox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2004, 02:13 PM   #8
Vittra
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Vittra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,425
Its getting better actually.
But in case you guys have problem starting up steam again.
Delete that blog file in the steam directory.
I am at work dont really remember the filename.
But when run into problem for me, deleting that file usually helps for me.
Vittra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump