Jagged Alliance 2 - Urban Chaos - GameAxis Forums
Go Back   GameAxis Forums > PC Games Connections > PC Gaming & Hardware
CLICK HERE TO LOG IN
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-12-2003, 08:59 AM   #1
ricebowl
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up Jagged Alliance 2 - Urban Chaos

It's the old, old game, now with a brand new mod made by fans.
I'm playing it now, kinda kickass with all the new storyline, weapons and such.

Source: http://www.ja-galaxy-forum.com/

Quote:

Hell may have just frozen over! After almost 3 years in development, the MOD Squad is proud to announce the release of Jagged Alliance 2: Urban Chaos, a free mod for Jagged Alliance 2. JA2: Urban Chaos sends your team of hardened mercenaries to Danubia, a former Warsaw Pact country embroiled in civil unrest, to rescue a British ambassador and recover the encrypted intelligence he was carrying before it can be used against your employers.
JA2:UC features:
- An all-new country to explore, featuring over 200 new maps and new tilesets.
- Ten new cities to invade and overtake, and a subway system running between them that will take you to the next one quickly.
- Dozens of new NPCs and quests, including a few familiar faces.
- All new items, guns and weapons, some of which are upgradable like never seen before!
- New intro movies and a totally revamped laptop interface.
- More numerous and aggressive enemies to fully test your mettle.

Jagged Alliance 2: Urban Chaos pushes the venerable JA2 engine about as far as it will go without breaking. Download Urban Chaos and fall in love with the classic JA2 turn-based gameplay all over again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2003, 10:53 AM   #2
Soulhacker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,657
Talking

Sob! Nowadays they don't make great games like JA2 anymore. We old school players just have to settle with fan's MOB.
Soulhacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2003, 07:39 PM   #3
outlander
Moderator
 
outlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,341
Does it require the original JA2?
__________________
Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz (E0 stepping)
Gigabyte EP45-DS3
Asus HD4850 512Mb (non-ref)
Kingston 4Gb DDR2 PC6400
WD Black 1TB SATA2
20" WS Dell E207WFP LCD
AcBel iPower 510W
Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
outlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2003, 08:16 PM   #4
Venturis
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,649
downloading now....
Venturis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 07:03 PM   #5
ricebowl
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by outlander
Does it require the original JA2?
Yah.. it needs the original JA2.

Find this Urban Chaos quite tough. Already a lot of enemies during the early stage. Haha. But really addictive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 11:38 PM   #6
outlander
Moderator
 
outlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,341
Quote:
Originally posted by ricebowl
Yah.. it needs the original JA2.

Find this Urban Chaos quite tough. Already a lot of enemies during the early stage. Haha. But really addictive.
Ok, time to dig out my old JA2.
__________________
Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz (E0 stepping)
Gigabyte EP45-DS3
Asus HD4850 512Mb (non-ref)
Kingston 4Gb DDR2 PC6400
WD Black 1TB SATA2
20" WS Dell E207WFP LCD
AcBel iPower 510W
Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
outlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 12:01 PM   #7
Venturis
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,649
erm.... where do we get our income in this mod? Dun see any mines yet... :confused:
Venturis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 06:34 PM   #8
ricebowl
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Venturis
erm.... where do we get our income in this mod? Dun see any mines yet... :confused:
I read from JAGalaxy forum that the money mpw comes from the Crepaton plants instead of mines. Just take those towns and talk to the plant manager, money should start rolling in.

I haven't tried yet tho. Still trying to take Callisto. Tough.

Last edited by ricebowl : 02-01-2004 at 06:48 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 08:10 PM   #9
Venturis
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,649
yah.... same here, still fighting through the town...
geez, these modders are even more vicious then developers, dun remember this game was tat difficult :rolleyes:
Venturis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 10:57 AM   #10
anakin18
Guest
 
anakin18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 798
Hey people, wanna ask how to dl the files as I see numerous files at the site...

anakin18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 12:24 PM   #11
Lord_weaver
 
Posts: n/a
ya... which file to download and how to install it the easiest way... I'm also a ja2 fan
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 02:07 PM   #12
Venturis
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,649
All the files fr ricebowl's link are needed, one of them is a UC.setup.exe which will help u patch the game with the mods.

Can refer to here for installation instruction

http://www.ja-galaxy-forum.com/ubb/u...;f=17;t=000007
Venturis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 07:11 PM   #13
ricebowl
 
Posts: n/a
YoYo!

I suggest using Bitorrent instead. There's a seed available here
http://www.jamodsquad.com/uploads/ja2uc.torrent
And it's slightly more convenient (provided u got use BitTorrent before) 'cos it'll download all the required files at one go.

But either case, just grab all the files, then run UC_Setup.exe to install the thingy. Btw, we need to have installed JA2 beforehand


I took Callisto & the SAM site alreadi! Haha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 11:21 PM   #14
outlander
Moderator
 
outlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,341
Any further comments? Worth the download?
__________________
Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz (E0 stepping)
Gigabyte EP45-DS3
Asus HD4850 512Mb (non-ref)
Kingston 4Gb DDR2 PC6400
WD Black 1TB SATA2
20" WS Dell E207WFP LCD
AcBel iPower 510W
Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
outlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 11:31 PM   #15
Venturis
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,649
Pretty much enjoy this mod...
Busy playing, erm... it harder than the original definitely. I'm only at my 3rd city... 7 more to go.
Venturis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump