Post your PS related Question / Problem here! - Page 4 - GameAxis Forums
Go Back   GameAxis Forums > PlayStation Connections > PlayStation Console Arena
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-12-2008, 12:19 AM   #46
ckleow
Moderator
 
ckleow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12,494
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dink11 View Post
Hi all,

I still can't connect my ps3 to singnet wirelessly . problem is stated in the thread.

Thanks in advance for any help rendered!

http://forums.gameaxis.com/showthread.php?t=1500200
Dink11, are you able to connect another pc/laptop/console to your 2wire?
did you use the correct WEP/WPA etc key?
did you do MAC filtering?
__________________
ckleow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2008, 09:15 AM   #47
Dink11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 81
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleow View Post
Dink11, are you able to connect another pc/laptop/console to your 2wire?
did you use the correct WEP/WPA etc key?
did you do MAC filtering?
Hi,

Yes i can connect my laptop and my desktop to my 2wire

I have used the correct WEP key. I converted my passphrase to my passkey
The strange thing is my network cannot sense my ps3. In my humble experience, when i use a wrong wep key, handshaking still exists but my network cannot sense my ps3.

I have also put in the MAC filtering for the ps3 into the network.

My PS3 cannot even obtain an ip address from my network. However, it is able to scan for my SSID.

EDIT: I managed to get it up already. I turned off my WEP security and i'm in.

Thanks for all your advice!

Last edited by Dink11 : 16-12-2008 at 09:44 AM.
Dink11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2008, 11:49 AM   #48
ckleow
Moderator
 
ckleow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12,494
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Dink11, good for you
__________________
ckleow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2008, 01:46 PM   #49
Dink11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 81
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Thanks!
Dink11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2008, 02:01 AM   #50
thefrayrox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,128
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

i have a problem, its the forums itself, goodday.<-- related ma.
people dont read stickies and i get infractions and potentially one of these days will get banned because im trying to read posts that can all be consolidated here.
maybe can try super sizing the thread? the size if too jarring will impact people who are blind
thefrayrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2008, 06:00 PM   #51
runhui2539
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Hi, i seem to have an error logging on to the PSN. i was able to di it the 1st time when i log on. next day, i couldn't log on at all. Tried the connection test, the system failed to obtain the IP address, it said, obtaining of the IP address timed out. Also another system error which i took note 80130182. i'm using starhub's wired connection.. anyone help pls..
runhui2539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2008, 06:03 PM   #52
runhui2539
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleow View Post
Will help if you give more info:
ISP : Singnet/Boardband
Modem/Router: Brand Model
Error msg displayed by PS3

Thanks

Oh

ISP: Starhub Max online
Modem/Router: Motorola SB5101
Failed to obtain IP address, obtaining of IP address timed out.
runhui2539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2008, 07:27 PM   #53
ckleow
Moderator
 
ckleow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12,494
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Do you have another pc/laptop connected to the Motorola SB5101?
Does it support DCHP?
__________________
ckleow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2008, 11:15 PM   #54
neojo4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 781
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefrayrox View Post
i have a problem, its the forums itself, goodday.<-- related ma.
people dont read stickies and i get infractions and potentially one of these days will get banned because im trying to read posts that can all be consolidated here.
maybe can try super sizing the thread? the size if too jarring will impact people who are blind
People do not post their problems in the sticky because they need help from as much ppl as possible. The viewing traffic in this sticky is not high as compared to the main forum. Thats why ppl chose to post at the main forum

When ppl encounter problems with their PS3, wireless network, modem etc, they need advise,and help from people with knowledge and experience. It will be great if more ppl can offer to help cos more brains will offer more solutions. I know mod and you have been trying to get ppl with problems to post here so as to consolidate these posts.

But seriously speaking, how many ppl actually surf this sticked thread. For me I will not" Hey lets go to this sticky and see what are the problems posted by forumers and help them."
I usually surf the main thread forum and if happpen to chance upon a thread requesting help and I can offer some help, I will go in and give advise. Thats why ppl post at the main forum. To attract ppl's attention and hope to receive help asap. So its hard to ask all the forumers to post their problems in the sticky unless they know they will get help fast from the sticky.
neojo4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2008, 11:44 PM   #55
thefrayrox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,128
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

well, put yourself in my shoes. I come here to try to have a discussion not answer the same problems over and over. I did say before i have nothign against people with problems i can sympathize. But some go overboard. Simple things sometimes google away, the mods who made this thread has the right idea, to clear up a little. But its APPARANTLY not helping.
thefrayrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2008, 12:00 AM   #56
runhui2539
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleow View Post
Do you have another pc/laptop connected to the Motorola SB5101?
Does it support DCHP?
actually i only have one of those cables, i switch between my lappy n my ps3, so i cant sign in to the PSN when i'm logged online wif my lappy. Wats DCHP ? sorri, i'm quite the technophobe..
runhui2539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2008, 12:08 AM   #57
thefrayrox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,128
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

DHCP is a way your router allocates IP addresses to different devices so they are all unique. If no DHCP most probably two devices ont he same network will have same IP. And will cause network error, both cannot use
thefrayrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2008, 12:30 AM   #58
ckleow
Moderator
 
ckleow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12,494
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

runhui2539.
In the PS3 XMB go to the network settings, choose wired connection and then choose auto setup from there.
does it work?

do you have the IP address of your laptop when connected to the modem?
using your laptop, at the command prompt, type "ipconfig /all" and post the result here....
__________________
ckleow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2008, 12:33 AM   #59
ckleow
Moderator
 
ckleow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12,494
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

thefrayrox, pls stop making a nuisance here in the forum. Be nice to others.
Thanks.
__________________
ckleow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2008, 12:39 AM   #60
thefrayrox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,128
Re: Post your PS3 related Question / Problem here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleow View Post
thefrayrox, pls stop making a nuisance here in the forum. Be nice to others.
Thanks.
is that a request? OR a threat. fyi, im pushing my luck. I want to see if you guys are more forgiving to annoying reposts, stupid posts, stupid people. Or someone who clearly wants these forums to be slightly more intelligent.
i dont claim to be a saint or super genious or whatever you want to name me, but really, some retorts towards my posts are ridiculously stupid, its as if their eyes were stuck to their ass while reading my post, dont make me quote kinda obvious because my nuinsense is everywhere

i also admiti m creating alot of problems and am looking for a permaban of some sort. That will be the day huh?
on a side note, if im banned, am i allowed to comment to other people that i got banned because i adhered to the "apparant rules" of the forums? If not i'll understand as well
im a responsible netizen i dont make new threads when something exists a page before or right under it. I do not treat the forums as a subtitute for google.com or ask where to buy a keyboard, etc
i use search appropriately and dont revive 2-3 dead threads in which i ask a question which is obviously already answered in the dead posts.

Last edited by thefrayrox : 18-12-2008 at 12:47 AM.
thefrayrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump