Xbox360 FAQ - Page 2 - GameAxis Forums
Go Back   GameAxis Forums > Xbox Connections > Xbox Trinity
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-05-2010, 09:12 AM   #16
Pyre
Supremacy Member
 
Pyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 17,657
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

hmm the information might be abit dated. time for a revamp?
__________________
Pyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 09:21 AM   #17
sofes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Hi,

I am very new to XBOX 360.

Recently got my hands on a set... unfortunately it is the very old set that is without HDMI port... it is connected to my TV using the cables supplied... hence the visual is not as great.

What are the other alternatives in order to have a better visual (other than getting another set that has HDMI port)?

Thanks
sofes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 12:52 PM   #18
Pyre
Supremacy Member
 
Pyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 17,657
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by sofes View Post
Hi,

I am very new to XBOX 360.

Recently got my hands on a set... unfortunately it is the very old set that is without HDMI port... it is connected to my TV using the cables supplied... hence the visual is not as great.
supplied cables meaning composite or component cables? like this one?
http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/

and i assume your TV is a HDTV right?
__________________
Pyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 10:08 PM   #19
sofes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyre View Post
supplied cables meaning composite or component cables? like this one?
http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/

and i assume your TV is a HDTV right?
Yup, my TV is HDTV.

As for the cables, no, is not the one in your link. It is the one with just the yellow, red and white.

What would be a good alternative to have better visual?
sofes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 12:12 AM   #20
Fearino
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Fearino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,446
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Yours is composite cable. You need to buy the component cable for your x360 to display HD content. Most gameshops sell them. Even Cyberactive and Best Denki have stock for them.
__________________


'Time was your ally, Human, but now it had abandoned you. The Forerunners have returned.'

PSN ID: RedFaceGeneral
Fearino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 08:23 AM   #21
sofes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearino View Post
Yours is composite cable. You need to buy the component cable for your x360 to display HD content. Most gameshops sell them. Even Cyberactive and Best Denki have stock for them.
Oh... ok... how much should I be expecting to pay? (sorry for this silly question... but really new to XBOX, dont wanna get carrot )

I was also trying to do some reading up in the net. and also came across this "XBOX VGA HD AV Cable".

What is the diff between the both and which gives a better output?

Thank you thank you

Last edited by sofes : 24-08-2010 at 09:01 AM.
sofes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 09:10 AM   #22
Pyre
Supremacy Member
 
Pyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 17,657
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

on vga output
Quote:
If you want to get high definition resolutions but can't afford an HDTV (since you just dropped 400 bones on an Xbox 360), consider getting a set of VGA cables for your 360. The console can output high resolution video directly to a computer monitor if you have the right cables. . By PC standards, 1280x720 (720p) is a walk in the park. Any decently made CRT monitor has the ability to display resolutions of 1600x1200 and upwards. Display size constraints are the only real downside to using a monitor as a gaming display since there's a world of difference between gaming on a 50-inch widescreen HDTV and a 21-inch CRT monitor.
http://www.gamespot.com/features/6139690/p-2.html

as for the Component cables... MSRP on xbox.com/sg is just under $50.
http://www.xbox.com/zh-SG/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/
but i'm sure u can find stores selling it at lower prices. so now armed with that information, you are in a better position to do your shopping.
__________________
Pyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 11:25 AM   #23
sofes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyre View Post
on vga output

http://www.gamespot.com/features/6139690/p-2.html

as for the Component cables... MSRP on xbox.com/sg is just under $50.
http://www.xbox.com/zh-SG/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/
but i'm sure u can find stores selling it at lower prices. so now armed with that information, you are in a better position to do your shopping.
Thank you all for the info. Really appreciate it.

I will go scout around for the component cables.
sofes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 03:26 PM   #24
hobbes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,207
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

I'm using my LCD monitor to game on my Xbox 360 with the help of the VGA cables but with VGA cables, the max resolution you can hit is 720p whereas with component or HDMI you can hit 1080p on a HD ready TV.

There is a difference between the 2 in terms of colour where the component gives you a brighter set of colours compared to the VGA ( though perhaps it could be my monitor settings ) and slightly sharper screens on the component.
hobbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 06:00 PM   #25
sofes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbes View Post
I'm using my LCD monitor to game on my Xbox 360 with the help of the VGA cables but with VGA cables, the max resolution you can hit is 720p whereas with component or HDMI you can hit 1080p on a HD ready TV.

There is a difference between the 2 in terms of colour where the component gives you a brighter set of colours compared to the VGA ( though perhaps it could be my monitor settings ) and slightly sharper screens on the component.
Thanks. Learned something today.

btw, the resolution of 480P, 720P or 1080P is adjusted from the TV or the console?
sofes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2010, 08:04 PM   #26
Fearino
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Fearino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,446
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

On your console. Go to system settings and select 'display' or something like that.
__________________


'Time was your ally, Human, but now it had abandoned you. The Forerunners have returned.'

PSN ID: RedFaceGeneral
Fearino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 06:56 PM   #27
sofes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Hey, I have got myself the component cables and plug it to my TV and console!! Then choose the display in the settings. Great, the visual is so much better!!

Thank you everyone!!!

Last edited by sofes : 25-08-2010 at 09:31 PM.
sofes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 10:01 PM   #28
Fearino
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Fearino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,446
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Good for you Happy gaming!
__________________


'Time was your ally, Human, but now it had abandoned you. The Forerunners have returned.'

PSN ID: RedFaceGeneral
Fearino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2011, 10:30 PM   #29
Sty_123
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 230
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

Hi guys, recently my 6 yrs old Xbox 360 20 gig got RROD. Thinking of getting a kinect or Slim xbox 360 to carry on my gaming hobby. But the problem is that my data is all in the old Xbox 360 20g hd. Anyway to use the hd on the Kinect model or the slim non Kinect model?

My old set is already RROD so I cant copy it out by memory card. Also was told by a salesguy from a gaming shop that the old 360 hd cannot use on the newer Kinect model. Is this true? Thanks in advance for any advice.
__________________
Do what u want and live life to the fullest
Sty_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2011, 11:38 PM   #30
kwo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,411
Re: Xbox360 FAQ

what you need is a transfer cable, for the game save data and other stuff..

for items that you purchased, and want to access on your new set, you can do a license transfer.

pss.. I am selling, xbox S sets, and kinect, and I can lend the transfer cable.
kwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump